Banking Services in Papua New Guinea

There are four commercial banks operating in Papua New Guinea. They are Bank South Pacific, Australian & New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ), Westpac Bank and May Bank.

Opening hours: 8.45am to 3pm from Monday to Thursday and from 8.45am to 4pm on Friday. A branch of Bank South Pacific is open for business at Port Moresby’s International Airport for currency exchange at arrival and departure times of all international flights.

ATMs & Eftpos
ATMs are located in major towns and cities. Eftpos is found in major hotels, shops, restaurants and many other locations.

Credit cards
Major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Diners & JCB) and traveller’s cheques are accepted at most leading hotels, restaurants and travel agencies.

Money transfers

  • Western Union – Located at major Bank South Pacific branches.
  • Travelex – Located at major ANZ branches.
  • Telegraphic transfer – Remittance via the bank account of the same bank.
  • Salim Moni Kwik (SMK) – Same day domestic money transfer by Post PNG

Exchange rates (subject to change) for major currencies:
  • Australia: AUD 0.4000
  • USA: USD 0.2906
  • Europe: Euro EUR 0.3000
  • Canada: CAD 0.4373
  • Japan: JPY 33.10
  • New Zealand: NZD 0.4600
  • Great Britain: GBP 0.2006