Land & Economy of Vanuatu

©John Nicholls - Tanna, Mt Yasur VolcanoVanuatu is a Y–shaped chain of 83 islands lying 2500km northeast of Sydney (Australia), 2000km north of Auckland (New Zealand) and 800km west of Nadi (Fiji). The islands offer a diverse range of scenery, from towering volcanic cones and coastal plains to wide beaches, deep natural harbours and coral atolls. Vanuatu lies along the Pacific Ring of Fire. Most of the islands are volcanic in origin, with steep, rugged terrain. Today, there are nine active volcanoes (seven on land), as well as thermal springs and fumaroles.

© John Nicholls - CoconutsThe country is divided into six provinces: Tafea (Erromango, Tanna, Aneityum, Futuna and Aniwa), Shefa (Efate and The Shepherd Islands), Malampa (Ambryn, Malakula, Paama), Penama (Pentecost, Maewo, Ambae), Sanma (Espiritu Santo, Malo, Aore, Tutuba & Bokissa) and Torba (The Torres Islands, Vanua Lava, The Banks Islands and Gaua).

Vanuatu Visitor GuideVanuatu Visitor MapVanuatu’s volcanic soil is one of its greatest assets, and agriculture dominates the country’s export income. Copra (dried coconut meat), cocoa, coffee, beef, timber are the major export earners. Throughout the Outer Islands, the coastal plains are devoted to large coconut plantations while inland, the huge demand of kava locally and abroad has made it the fastest growing agricultural commodity.

Order your free Jasons Vanuatu Visitor Map and Vanuatu Visitor Guide now.