Tuvalu Travel Guide

Tuvalu Travel Guide

The chain of nine low-lying coral atolls of Tuvalu make up the world's fourth smallest country with a total land area of just 26 sq km. The nine atolls are Nukufetau, Vaitupu, Nui, Niuatao, Nanumea, Nukulaelae, Nanumaga and Niulakita. Formerly known as the Ellice Islands, Tuvalu was granted independence from Kiribati (the former Gilbert Islands) in 1975, and is now a constitutional monarchy. The capital and centre of government of Tuvalu is Funafuti, which is home to almost half of the country's population.

The islands of Tuvalu are quite unique in that there are no mountains, waterfalls or natural streams, although the atolls are separated by large expanses of ocean. The tiny atolls, with their blue seas, magnificent lagoons, coral reefs and palm-fringed beaches, offer a traditional Pacific ambience. One of the highlights is Funafuti Lagoon, filled with multi-coloured tropical fish and excellent for fishing, swimming and snorkelling. Tuvalu is also known for its distinctive Polynesian crafts, architecture, music and dance. The islands were a base for American troops during World War II and have some historic wartime sites.

Take a holiday to Tuvalu and discover the world's fourth smallest country.

Geographic Location

An island group consisting of nine coral atolls in the South Pacific Ocean, west of the International Date Line and 1000 kilometres north of Fiji.




A tropical marine climate, with easterly trade winds. The average temperature is 30ºC.
Wet Season: Severe tropical storms are rare but westerly gales and heavy rain are possible from November to March.

Capital City

Funafuti Atoll

Time Zone

Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) plus 12 hours

Major Attractions

World War II Relics, Historic Sites, Marine Life, Handcrafts, Archaeological Sites, Churches, Dancing & Feasts, Fanufala, Nanumea Atoll, Nui Atoll, Nukufetau Atoll, Nukulaelae Atoll, Swimming, Fishing, Reefwalking, Beachcombing, Cycling, Lagoon & Picnic Cruises.